top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureOnslaught Supply

Hell|Bent is out now!!!


Hell Bent Video Game Title


Hell|Bent got released Saturday night and oh boy did it come with it's own host of challenges! I started developing this game about a month ago from start to finish. Every bit of spare/free time was spent working on this short title from then until now. Now that it's released, I am taking a small teenie weenie break for health and sanity purposes before jumping into any bug fixes and optimization. Being made for a game jam, I didn't have time to test as well as I should. I didn't have time to compress the files and upon deployment, the game decided to run at half speed which prompted a mad scrabble to fix within 2 hours of the jams deadline. So the actual deployed game was missing 2 animations, 1 sound effect, and 2 character poses for the end boss. I did a quick speed run before uploading but I didn't run into those errors. So at about a half-hour of gameplay it will lock up with error messages. A hotfix with those missing resources have been uploaded to a separate page since I can't change the entry page until the game jam voting is over. The jam ended up with only one other official entry and on their discord server we discussed the lack of entries my embarrassing missing resources, and in a couple of days another game from another contestant will be added just so there will be competition. I had a lot of fun in this jam due to the minimum constraints and long time frame. The next morning after I uploaded the game, a very cool YouTuber had already done a quick video right up until the error messages. Completely unsolicited and he happened on it by chance, so that was freakin' awesome. I absolutely love watching people play my games. It's such a great way to learn how players interact with the worlds I've created and it helps me make bug corrections, gameplay fixes, optimiztion, and general quality of life improvements. In about a week or so I will write up a Postmortem for the game jam.


See you next time!

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page